PracticePrompt Blog

Practice Log for 01/08/2010 at 20:55:07

Posted in Captain's Log by elwynrees on August 1, 2010

Practice Log (version 1.1)

Total practice time for 01/08/2010 : 183 minutes

Number of tasks: 25

Task details (Time finished, Type, Title, Duration):
08:13 Sightread : Quickstudy Beginners pieces from Pianist Magazine :10 mins
08:38 Scales&Arps : Scales 1 – Cmaj, Amin,(0), Gmaj, Emin,(1# :17 mins
09:03 Pieces : Personal Je… Main Riff LH alone. Make automatic :1 mins
09:06 Pieces : Personal Je… First ‘theme’ Hard phrase 1 :3 mins
09:08 Pieces : Personal Je… First ‘theme’ Hard phrase 2 :2 mins
09:10 Pieces : Personal Je… First ‘theme’ Hard phrase 3 :2 mins
09:21 Pieces : Personal Je… Intro and first ‘theme’ (single notes) :10 mins
09:31 Pieces : Personal Je… Intro and first ‘theme’ (single notes) :10 mins
09:46 Pieces : Personal Je… Second ‘theme’ Phrase 1 :8 mins
11:19 Pieces : Personal Je… Second ‘theme’ Phrase 2 :8 mins
11:22 Pieces : Personal Je… Second ‘theme’ Phrase 3 :3 mins
11:25 Pieces : Personal Je… Second ‘theme’ Phrase 4 :3 mins
11:28 Pieces : Personal Je… Second ‘theme’ Phrase 5 :3 mins
12:13 Pieces : Personal Je… Second ‘theme’ build up in stages :20 mins
12:54 Pieces : Personal Je… first ‘theme’ (as octaves) watch RH thumb :15 mins
13:00 Pieces : Personal Je… "Hook" (open voiced for repeats and ending :5 mins
13:05 Pieces : Personal Je.. R&R 3rd phrase pentatonic octaves loop :5 mins
13:11 Pieces : SOTW – Loosen up enjoy and kill the guitar solo…. :6 mins
19:19 Scales&Arps : Scales 2 – Dmaj, Bmin,(2#), Amaj,F#min,(3# :17 mins
19:27 Pieces : Ich ruf’ zu dir,…. Slow cold play though :5 mins
19:30 Pieces : Ich ruf’ zu dir,…. Section 1 (polishing) :3 mins
20:05 Pieces : Personal Je… Second ‘theme’ Phrase 1 :8 mins
20:13 Pieces : Personal Je… Second ‘theme’ Phrase 2 :8 mins
20:17 Pieces : Personal Je… Second ‘theme’ Phrase 3 :3 mins
20:26 Pieces : Personal Je… Second ‘theme’ Phrase 2 :8 mins

Comment:
The end of a weeks annual leave! Since most of the family were still working, the week was spent at home. So apart from a wide range of chores, I’ve been able to practice at least 2hours a day. This is probably the most I’ve done since returning to piano.

Currently the scales and sight-reading are proving to be addictive. I’m having to force myself to work on pieces and play some older finshed ones.

A major step-forwared practicing scales has been the use of the metronome (I’m using the Pianoteq modelled piano which has this as a feature). Being able to control speed has been very useful. Without the metronome, I tend to go way too fast and it falls appart. I start a scale playing a note to each click of the metronome, then two notes per click. I started with it set to 60, over the weeks this has gradually increased in steps up to its current setting of 100. This means that my top speed is around 200 notes per minute. However, I can do short bursts of 300 with scales I know well. Top speed is not the key target, which is strengthen and improve my left hand and to learn and memorise all the notes (I haven’t used a score for quite a while now). I do find myself working out the notes of the minor scales from their relative major, I tend to start all scales (even Cmaj), playing 1 octave HS at the slower speed. Then increase to 2-octaves HT. For the scales I know better, I go up to 3 or 4 octaves and also do "swing" time and stocatto. There has been considerable improvement in my weaker left hand which I’m very pleased about.

The sight-reading is very enjoyable. I’ve reviewed a lot of Youtube tutorials. There”s a post in preparation with a summary of all the things you ought to be doing. I’ve been tempted at times to double the number of sessions, but this will lead to a hunt for more scores. I may do that at some point, perhaps when the scales are further improved and more solid.

Re-learning Vika’s version of ‘Personal Jesus’ from her score is coming along (it’s been about a week now). This seems to be progressing on a broad front. Currently the "second theme" (verse)? is the major block and is taking a lot of drilling. Funnily enough, the sections I perceived as hard when learning it by ear (the central section with all the RH runs, the hooks and ending) are now the most reliable sections as I seemed to have worked these out OK. The hard sections are the first and second themes (where my "version" of the left hand was total pants). Will it be completed in 2–weeks though for the ABF recital 19 (which is now open for submissions)… ????

Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a Reply

