PracticePrompt Blog

Practice Log for 24/10/2010 at 17:34:26

Posted in Captain's Log by elwynrees on October 27, 2010

Practice Log (version 1.1)

Total practice time for 24/10/2010 : 70 minutes

Number of tasks: 4

Task details (Time finished, Type, Title, Duration):
09:05 Sightread : Level 1 (Independant Level) – Grade1 :10 mins
09:35 Sightread : Rhythmic Reading, Joan Last – Book 4 :10 mins
10:47 Scales&Arps : Scales 5 – Abmaj, Fmin,(4b), Ebmaj,Cmin,(3b :20 mins
15:29 Scales&Arps : Scales 6 – Bbmaj,Gmin,(2b),Fmaj, Dmin,(1b :30 mins

Comment:
Wordpress did my head in on Sunday! I tried updating the months daily practice log (email), and no matter how far apart I separated them,  the blogs are all jumbled up rather than chronologically sorted.  So, must stay on top of this in future!

Current focus remains sight-reading. This seems to be pushing the “challenging” piece to one side. Scales have also gone well and I’m now on a metronome setting of 63 (4 notes per click) and covering all the major/relative minors around the circle of fifths about once a week or so. I’ve just finished cycle 22!

Recently, in addition to working on sight reading method books, I’ve started phasing in the Diane Hardy “Diagnostic Prescriptive Sight Reading Program” by starting to read pieces. Previously, I’d been stumbling through the beginner pieces, it is greatly improved now.

I bought a book off Amazon “Making the grade” pieces arranged by Lynda Firth. This has dozens of popular music pieces in very simple arrangements, but has 3 levels: preparatory, grade1 and grade2. The pieces seem nicely graded within each level.

Currently in 10 minutes I can do two pieces (probably a lot less for prima vista SR). I tend to study the score for just a minute or so, then play through. Then spend a few minutes “polishing” (which aint SR but they just so much fun). I’ve completed the first level and am currently working through grade1. I’m about half-way.This book has been a real find.

I’ve got a several more Grade1/volume1 collections from the library and the plan for the moment is to work through them all for the next couple of months. I’ll admit to taking back Bartok’s Mikrokosmos book2, since that plus method books was too much like hard work!

I still intend working through the three series of sight-reading methods books. I’m currently nearly finishing the first at level/grade 4. Progress has slowed on these because they are (a) harder, (b) I’m only doing 1 SR method series study slot a day rather than three!

What I want to do soon is to start another key aspect of Dianne’s system, which is to include fluency grade +1 and fluency grade +2 pieces to study (for 1 and several weeks). Getting all these study slots up and running has been my primary target for several months now.

Sight-reading test: I decided to skip the planned third test this month and leave it one or more months. I want a period of “consollidation”, so to run the full DPSRP for a monnth with Levels 1,2 & 3 running together with a daily SR method session should hopefully put a lot of water under the bridge before doing the next test.

Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a Reply

