PracticePrompt Blog

Practice Log for 06/11/2010 at 20:50:50

Posted in Captain's Log by elwynrees on November 6, 2010

Level1: Finished the “grade1” section of “Making the Grade”….
Level2: Started a new piece (ABRSM Grade2 C1 Ba-Bah-do bah)….
Level3: Skipped it again… 😦
Scales: hot stuff!

Total practice time for 06/11/2010 : 95 minutes

Level1: Finished the “grade1” section of “Making the Grade”. This means I’ve now sight-read 44 pieces from this book (together with completing Mikrokosmos one a month or so ago). They are definitely going better than the session back in June playing the beginner pieces from the Pianist Magazine. I decided against doing the Grade2 section in this book (although it appears a natural progression). Instead I got out my copy of the ABRSM Grade1 201011 and played though the first two pieces. Dianne Hardy’s DPRSP requires two pages a day at the independent (fluency) level, so that meant two pieces today. I study the score for several minutes first, then just play straight through. Afterwards, I have a quick polishing session and go over its several times, in total the time for this task was 15 minutes. This was a lot of fun! Yes I made mistakes, and I was again going too fast. The other good habit that’s gone by the board lately is using the metronome. For these ABRSM pieces, I must get back into that habit.

Level2: Started a new piece (ABRSM Grade2 C1 “Bah-Ba-doo bah”)….
I’m starting this a few days late (the level2 pieces should be dropped whatever state they are in after 1-week). The reason being that the first level2 piece has been a swine for me. There’s these tricky scale passages in the left hand, my left hand is still not 100% and so I’ve decided that this piece is giving it a good physiotherapy style workout, so I’m going to carry on with it for a week. I picked out the next level2 piece from section C (contemporary/Jazzy stuff) a few days ago and had gone through the score during lunchtimes in work. This seems to have massively helped. I started work at the piano today and had several sessions on it and it sounds pretty good (and not much worse than my sight-reading pieces first thing this morning). In fact, I found myself beefing up the sound using octave bass in the middle sections and doing chordal tremeloes rather than single note/minor third, single note/minor third in quarter notes. It’s got a cool descending walking bass line and lots of cheesy bluesy clichés throughout. Now this piece is a lot of fun!

Level3: Skipped this piece since Monday (to focus on the tricky Level2 piece).

Scales: The Set3 task of scales (details below) tends to be a swine, it’s the minor scales. However, today, it went well. Yesterday my left hand was falling apart and being quite useless, today it was greatly improved. Even the minors were much better. I seemed to know/anticipate the notes better, often with the minor scales, I’m working them out each time. Lately I’ve noticed, that I’m thinking less about the notes, and more about evenness, smoothness, and stopping the odd note ringing out fff.

Number of tasks: 5

Task details (Time finished, Type, Title, Duration):
07:39 Sightread : Level 1 (Independant Level) – Grade1 :15 mins
12:22 Sightread : Level 2 (Independant +1) ABRSM Grade2 201011 A1 :20 mins
13:13 Sightread : Level 2 (Independant +1) ABRSM Grade2 201011 C1 :20 mins
13:49 Sightread : Level 2 (Independant +1) ABRSM Grade2 201011 C1 :20 mins
17:10 Scales&Arps : Scales 3 – Emaj, C#min,(4#),Bmaj,G#min,(5# :20 mins

Practice Log (version 1.3)

Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a Reply

