PracticePrompt Blog

Study Stats for Piano World ABF Recital #20 – Bah-ba-doo bah

Posted in ABF Recital by elwynrees on November 14, 2010

Here’s the study stats for “Bah-ba-doo bah” my submission for the 20th ABF Recital:  🙂

First date:       06/11/2010
Last date:         13/11/2010
Time(mins):              160
Time(hrs):                 ❤
Days in period:            8
Days of Practice:          6
Avg pract time:           27
Avg daily time:           20

I only had one study task for this piece (so there is no breakdown of hard bars, phrases, sections etc as for learning Challenging pieces).   However, I did apply the method and practice the harder bars first, then each of the two sections aiming for 5 repeats without error starting off slowly, then increasing the tempo during course of the week.

The piece is very short and part of a set of Jazz Studies by John Kember.  It’s from the current ABRSM Grade 2 syllabus and in their book of Selected exam Pieces.    I started recording for submission yesterday after the final practice session (2010-Nov-13) and found a few things that needed sorting.   So it was two more takes this morning with the final one being submitted.   It has two sections and I played them through as written the first time, then to give it more oomph, I played the bass notes as octaves and messed around just a little in the second section with tremelo chords.  The final run through of the first section was also had octave bass and I gave it a cheesy ending by repeating the last but one bar a couple of times.   It  probably needs something a bit more subtle like a stride bass pattern, but I haven’t really played anything like this before.   The main problem was belting out the octaves too loudly ffff.   Just the extra notes beefs things up a lot. So the final take is the one with the smoothest transition.

As part of  my sight-reading studies I daily read and play through two pieces or pages at ABRSM Grade1 level.  In support of this, I study 1 piece a grade above (ABRSM Grade2) for 1 week then chuck it away.  Finally another piece a grade above (Grade3) is studied for several weeks.     This is my interpretation of Dianne Hardy’s Diagnostic Prescriptive Sight-Reading Program  and why this post is in that category.    I only recently started on this schema and this is just the second Level2 piece.   I originally reasoned, that a 10 minute study tasks should be enought since it’s just a grade above what I’m attempting to sight read (also a 10 minute study slot).  But the first piece prooved really  tricky, and I learnt from last week’s piece that it’s a good idea to transition to a new piece at the weekend and have a 40 minute session on the first couple of days then back off and polish for the remainder of the week.  This seems to have worked out OK.

Tagged with: , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. taarika said, on November 14, 2012 at 04:16

    can u please tllme where bah ba doo bah was written

  2. Accelerate by Eben Pagan said, on May 20, 2013 at 06:57

    I like the helpful information you provide to your articles.

    I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.
    I’m quite sure I will learn a lot of new stuff proper right here! Best of luck for the next!


Leave a Reply

