PracticePrompt Blog

Practice Log for 25/03/2011 at 22:28:27

Posted in Captain's Log by elwynrees on March 25, 2011

Lots of fun with a simple sight-reading piece….

Total practice time for 25/03/2011 : 50 minutes

This sight-reading piece was easy today, Chim Chim Cher-ee, yes that old song from Mary Poppins! I’m not sure how much sight-reading it is when you know the tune, but anyhow, I’m enjoying these pieces. I read it through a couple of times, then played it. But there was a lot of time left over so I started nooding about with it, trying to fill out the sound, but, leaving the melody as written (in the Making the Grade book, grade 2 section), I played octaves in the bass. Then this sort of morphed into arppegiated chords, with a final Dsus4 at the end, I don’t know where that came from! Anyhow, I decided to record it and you can find it attached. I quite like these "rapid study" 20 minutes or so from seeing it to recording. It’s a step up from sight-reading and touches on the playing from a lead sheet a bit…

The pieces and studies were also fun tonight. There’s a few tricky bars in each. I’m resisting the temptation to memorise them (since I think it’s easier that way), but I’m going to stick with playing from the score on these.

I’m using the CP-33 as a midi controller for Pianoteq and strangely it seems to sound better. I can’t think of any changes I’ve made, but it’s really strange how much more alive it feels with the new board.

Number of tasks: 5

Task details (Time finished, Type, Title, Duration):
18:32 Sightread : Level 1 (Independant Level) – Grade1 :10 mins
18:58 Study : Hanon Ex5 metronome 152 (80) :5 mins
20:27 Sightread : Level 2 (Independant +1) ABRSM Grade2 201112 C2 :15 mins
20:32 Warmup : C major focus patterns for left met104 :5 mins
20:47 Sightread : Level 3 (Independant +2) ABRSM Grade3 200506 C2 :15 mins

Practice Log (version 1.3)

Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a Reply

