PracticePrompt Blog

Practice Log for 11/04/2011 at 21:39:58

Posted in Captain's Log by elwynrees on April 11, 2011

Level 1: Started "Rhythmic Reading" book 5 by Joan Last.

Level 2: Skipped, but this should now be a ABRSM grade 3 piece, so I’ll probably carry on polishing "Cha Cha" for the remainder of this week.

Level 3: This is now Grade 4. I’ve got the ABRSM syllabus and disk from 2005/06, so I listened and picked out one that’s very familiar Grieg’s Waltz No 2 from Lyric Pieces, Book1, Op 12. No 2.

Exercises: Hanon Ex 5 and the ascending triplets left hand, but both at increased tempo!

Total practice time for 11/04/2011 : 80 minutes

Lots of fun this evening. I spent quite a bit of time picking out a Grade4 piece to study for the next couple of weeks. I’ve got the ABRSM disk and the Grieg waltz is familiar, I realised it’s very familiar because it’s also on the free CD with Pianist Magazine No 53, which luckily also has the score. Just as well, since the ABRMS CD has 18 tracks, but they only provide 9 pieces in the score. The other 9 are "alternative pieces for the grade". In pianist magazine its categorised as "intermediate". I’ve a play list of all the intermediate pieces and this is one of the ones that stands out for me.

As I know the piece, I listened and read through the score several times. Then sat down and gave it a whirl. It went very well, there’s some tricky stretches in the left hand, the score seems to show big stretches for the left hand waltz pattern chore (A then) E-C (1,2) and F-D (1,3). It has some nice little licks and phrases and almost jazzy chord progressions in places that remind me of the last piece (Cha Cha).

It felt for the first time, that the work on sight-reading was having a real benefit. I’m going to create a set of study tasks for this one, which I’ll follow, but will just leave a single study task in the app. I’m looking forward to this piece which should be fun!

I started the last volume of "Rhythmic Reading" by Joan Last (at least I can’t find a book 6) mentioned anywhere. This is going to double up for the Level 1 pieces this week (which should be Grade 2 ABRSM).

The Hanon and left hand exercise had the metronome values increased. The first time through at full tempo I managed the Hanon (after two passes legato and staccato at 1/2 speed). But afterwards, it turned into mushh… The left hand ascending triplets at 120 went well. These have been a great benefit, and my weak and less dexterous left hand 5th and 4th fingers are much improved.

Number of tasks: 5

Task details (Time finished, Type, Title, Duration):
17:48 Study : Hanon Ex5 metronome 172 (86) :5 mins
17:58 Sightread : Rhythmic Reading, Joan Last – Book 5 :10 mins
18:09 Sightread : Rhythmic Reading, Joan Last – Book 5 :10 mins
18:15 Warmup : C major focus patterns for left met120 :5 mins
21:18 Sightread : Level 3 (Independant +2) ABRSM Grade4 200506 Waltz (alt B) :50 mins

Practice Log (version 1.3)

Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a Reply

